Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Right now, I am sitting in the hospital, recovering from my recent surgery.  Or, at least, I think I am.  As I am typing this, it is the Friday before my surgery and I have one last shift at the restaurant before I start prepping to go into the hospital.  I have some wonderful friends all around the world who are either bringing me, or sending me chocolate for my post-op recovery, because I am a chocoholic, and nothing makes me feel better than chocolate…except when it makes me feel sick (because I am technically allergic to it).

One thing I keep being asked though, throughout my life, but especially now as several people are thinking to bring me chocolate, is “What is [my] favorite chocolate?”

To a non-chocoholic, this is an easy question.  They may state a candy bar, like Hershey’s or Kit-Kat.  A person my specify a brand, like Godiva or Dove.  Yet another person may have a specific flavor mixture, such as mint chocolate or chocolate filled with caramel.  The list goes on.

To a chocoholic like me though, this question is very difficult to answer.  I may love the extra dark chocolate Lindor Truffles, but I cannot stand another brands.  Likewise, I could absolutely hate Lindor’s salted caramel truffles.  There also comes the difficulty of not really liking any common chocolate bar that you would pick up at your local impulse aisle.  These items are typically less exciting after eating the higher quality chocolates, but you do not want to tell your friends that you only want the expensive brands.  It is dangerous to say you like dark chocolate, because dark chocolate is dependent on percentage and brand.

I am never sure what to say when people ask me what my favorite chocolate is, but for the sake of the future times I am asked, I will try to compile a list.

My favorite chocolate:
*Lindor Truffles – Mint, Extra Dark Chocolate
*Godiva – Chocolate Lava Truffle, Cookie Dough Truffle, Chocolate Covered Strawberries, Cookie Dough….there are a lot… (I also love trying their flights)
*Truffle Pig – Mint
*Nutella – made in Italy or Germany, not made in Canada
*Smarties
*Sweet Steam – Mint Chocolate
*Chocolove 77%
*World’s Finest Chocolates Meltaways
*Frango Mints

This is all I could think of for now, but I am sure there are many more.  I will endeavor to update this post as I think of or discover more.

