Tags

, , , , , ,

For the past year, I was forced to resort to a fallback job, serving.  Being a server is very difficult work.  You’re schedule is all over the place and you generally do not receive it until a few days before the work week begins so forget making advance plans, you are on your feet all day, running around at your guests whim, handling their half-eaten food, and at the end of the day, they determine your income, not your boss, your guests (If you are misinformed in anyway, servers make nearly half of the legal minimum wage in the U.S., in Illinois, the minimum wage is currently $8.25, as a server I make $4.95.  We also do not keep 100% of your tip, a percentage (generally around 5% OF YOUR BILL) is given to the support staff.  We cannot falsify this, the computer keeps track.).

Anyhow, I do not mean to be on a soapbox here, serving can have benefits as well.  If there are things you need to do during regular business hours, you are not always tied to a desk job, you CAN make some good money, and you meet a lot of interesting people.  With my tables, the fact that I am a chocoholic comes up, and I will add weight to the title by telling people that I have this blog.  Occasionally because of this, people will also make recommendations for me.  One of my recent recommendations was Trader Joe’s 72% Dark Chocolate.

traderjoes01This came from a table that also knew about my desire to be healthy, which obviously, Trader Joe’s excels at.  I had told them my current favorite chocolate bar, Chocolove, and they suggested this.  I was a little hesitant to begin with because it is 5% less cacao than Chocolove, but I decided to give it a try, because it is still above my cacao minimum.

traderjoes02Trader Joe’s 72% comes in either a very large block that you can find on the candy shelves over the frozen aisles, or in smaller bars (pictured) found with the candy around the cash wraps.

traderjoes03Taste wise, this is actually a little more bitter tasting than the Chocolove 77%, which is disappointing considering the lower content.  I could eat this as a mid-day fix just the same, but it is not quite as enticing.  Still, if unable to purchase Chocolove, this would be an acceptable substitute.

